Second All-Russia Congress of Soviets of Workers' and Soldiers' Deputies

Decision to Form the Workers' and Peasants' Government

The All-Russia Congress of Soviets of Workers', Soldiers', and Peasants' Deputies resolves:

To establish a provisional workers' and peasants' government, to be know as the Council of People's Commissars, to govern the country until the Constituent Assembly is convened. The management of individual branches of state activity is entrusted to commissions whose members shall ensure the fulfillment of the programme announced by the Congress, and shall work in close contact with mass organisations of men and women workers, sailors, soldiers, peasants and office employees. Governmental authority is vested in a collegium of the chairmen of those commissions, i.e., the Council of People's Commissars.

Control over the activities of the People's Commissars with the right to replace them is vested in the All-Russia Congress of Soviets of Workers', Peasants' and Soldiers' Deputies and its Central Executive Committee.

At the present time the Council of People's Commissars is constituted as follows:

Chairman of the Council — Vladimir Ulyanov (Lenin);
People's Commissar of the Interior — A. I. Rykov;
Agriculture — V. P. Milyutin;
Labour — A. G. Shlyapnikov;
Army and Navy Affairs — a committee consisting of:
V. A. Ovseyenko (Antonov), N. V. Krylenko and P. Y. Dybenko;
Commerce and Industry — V. P. Nogin;
Education — A. V. Lunacharsky;
Finance — I. I. Skvortsov (Stepanov);
Foreign Affairs — L. D. Bronstein (Trotsky);
Justice — G. I. Oppokov (Lomov);
Food — I. A. Tedorovich;
Posts and Telegraph — N. P. Avilov (Glebov);
Chairman for Nationalities Affairs — J. V. Jugashvili (Stalin).
The office of People's Commissar of Railways is temporarily vacant.


Source: Marxist Interner Archive.